When did Greenville get rickshaws?

gs3

How have I missed this? When did Greenville get rickshaws/pedicabs? I knew we had the horse drawn carriages, but didn't realize we have rickshaws/pedicabs. Cool addition to downtown. :thumbsup: Here's one in West End by the Army/Navy store:

CIMG4686.jpg

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How have I missed this? When did Greenville get rickshaws/pedicabs? I knew we had the horse drawn carriages, but didn't realize we have rickshaws/pedicabs. Cool addition to downtown. :thumbsup: Here's one in West End by the Army/Navy store:

CIMG4686.jpg

please tell me that is joke? You faked that picture?

No joke. I'm not that good with photoshop. :D

I've ridden in them in Orlando (Thornton Park area), DC (Georgetown area) and New York (Village area). Nice to see Greenville getting these downtown. With our lively, pedestrian friendly downtown, these are a perfect fit. :thumbsup: A growing trend in many US cities.

Here's a link to BicyTaxi. (Google "rickshaw" or "pedicab" and you'll be shocked how much you find.) There is even a forum, much like UP, just for rickshaws/pedicabs.

http://www.bicytaxi.com/

Actually that isn't a rickshaw.

You're right, they're not rickshaws, they're pedicabs; however a lot of people in the U.S. tend to call them rickshaws. Some companies even market them as rickshaws. Hard to find a true rickshaw in the United States, though, since we're all so lazy and no one really wants to be the one to pull it.

This brings up a question: does anyone know of any cities or areas (like Asian areas) in the U.S. that use real rickshaws? I'd be interested in seeing that.

Rickshaw:

rickshaw.gif

Pedicab:

pedicabDSCN4411.jpg

Rick Shaw:

RickShaw.jpg