STAMFORD l Through My Lenses

I'm an amature photographer specializing in urban landscapes, natural settings and architectural details. Here I will share some of my photos taken in Stamford, Connecticut.

I will be updating this thread periodically with new photos of different areas within the city limits and possibly of various events. As the number of photos on display increases, you will get a better idea of how the city looks.

First, a few facts about Stamford:

• 4th largest city in Connecticut, 8th in New England.
    • Has a diverse population just under 123,000, according to the 2010 Census.
      • It was settled in 1641, incorporated and consolidated in 1949.
        • Covers an area of 52.1 square miles (134.9 square kilometers).
          • Its one of the wealthiest and safest cities in the United States.

[*]The city is about an hour northeast of New York City, and there is an express train that leaves Grand Central Terminal and goes directly to the Stamford Train Station.

[*]Stamford is one of the largest financial centers in the United States, home to the North American and global headquarters of UBS Warburg, Royal Bank of Scotland, Pitney Bowes, World Wrestling Entertainment, General Electric, among other firms.

[*]The flat key was invented at the Towne & Yale Company (if you ever wonder why so many keys have Yale written on them, now you know) in the South End district of Stamford, which revolutionized the door knobs and key industry worldwide.