Question about condos and hometowns

Yurek

Hi everyone,

I am new to QC and this forum. 

First, let me tell you a little bit about my background. Three years ago I immigrated from a small country in Eastern Europe to Chicago. I spent there two years, decided that it's too cold, windy and sometimes unsafe for me to live there. We lived entire time in downtown and I worked 20 minutes from our apartment building. Chicago was my first urban experience in US. Living there I learned the difference between how cities were designed and built in Europe and in US. While learning about differences, I became interested in urban planning, sprawl phenomenon, new urbanism movement, public transit and so on.

After a while I decided to find another city to live. After all investigations and analysis I realized that Charlotte is the best option for me personally. It has great weather, strong IT job market, close proximity to ocean and mountains and so on. This months it has been six months since my wife and I moved and I can say we don't regret it. The only thing that I am currently stuck in Concord suburban area till next summer, because it's when our lease and contract with my employer expire. 

Before coming to US we used to have the "American Dream" and we really wanted to buy a house and live in a suburban area. After spending half a year in such area we realized that it doesn't work for us. We don't need to own land and we don't want to drive everywhere. I like to walk and bike a lot and driving to bike is ridiculous. Sidewalk is a luxury which sometimes is hard to find.

Currently we thinking about buying a condo or maybe a townhome as our next move, if everything goes well.