Norfolk Mayoral Election

vdogg

Who do you think would be best for the city and why?  I'm interested to hear some opinions from Norfolk residents. I don't have a dog in this hunt as I'm a VB resident, but I do have interest in seeing Norfolk continue to develop into the city I know it can be. We don't normally do politics on this site except when it directly relates to urban development, I say this qualifies. Please keep it civil though.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Norfolk resident here. I've read some solid answers from Sheriff McCabe and now Andy Protogyrou, and they have what appears to be a similar vision. I follow AltDaily pretty closely, and have read the reviews of McCabe and Protogyrou. I really like the latter's idea of working with the other cities starting on day one; I like the former's idea of more transparency.

As of right now, I'm mostly undecided. I'm looking for someone to be a game changer, but also listen to the residents' input. City Council dropped the ball with SPQ, Waterside 3.0 and the school board, and all of those stick in my craw. The NEON Festival last week really let me know how awesome this city could be in the next 5-10 (if not more) years, but it's going to take more than just the status quo to make it happen. I want to see this area become the next Charlotte or Atlanta...but that'll never happen if the status quo continues. 

I'd like to see a mayor invest more in the schools, the arts and technology, as well as focus on getting more Fortune 500 business. Overly depending on the military with all the defense cuts will hurt us in the long run.

Ex-Norfolk Resident (Born and raised), Now baltimorian... if that is a word.