NC Teacher Salaries

When I moved here in 2008, I considered continuing my profession as a teacher. The problem was that teachers were beginning to be laid off in huge numbers. Governor Purdue announced many times over the next couple of years that 500 or more teachers would be laid off. It was a mess.  Our present Senate has proposed pay raises over the next two years that will dramatically increase average teacher pay from $47,783 to $54,224 per year. This is on top of the $4,700 in normal pay raises that will be received during the 2016-2018 period. Another words, this is a pay raise of almost $10,000 or 20 percent since the 2013-2014 school year.

Under this proposal, N.C, will climb 23 spots to 24th in the nation and number one in the southeast. Under the old party, it took a teacher 33 years to reach a salary of $50K.  Under this proposal, it will only take 15. As a former teacher, I applaud Raleigh for this critical move. It will benefit everyone if enacted which will likely happen. A huge step forward.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This does feel noteworthy and like good news (though I suspect some may suggest it's still not enough).  I wonder if past efforts to increase pay initiated by Democrats were stymied by Republican opposition?  That said, without knowing the details this feels like progress.

Why have you posted that in the Good News thread? No article, just a general comment that is more suited for the Off Topic thread not here. 

Just seems like you are trying to booster support for the Republican-led NCGA to try and turn attention from HB2. 

25 minutes ago, Piedmont767 said:

Why have you posted that in the Good News thread? No article, just a general comment that is more suited for the Off Topic thread not here. 

Just seems like you are trying to booster support for the Republican-led NCGA to try and turn attention from HB2.