Jump to content

Springfield/Branson MSA vs. Northwest Arkansas MSA: Facts and Comparison


Recommended Posts


Springfield / Branson Missouri Combined MSA
Largest city / Springfield
Other cities    
Nixa / Ozark / Republic / Branson / Marshfield / Willard / Bolivar / Battlefield
 • Total    3,021 sq mi (7,820 km2)
Population (2014 estimates)
 • Total    537,631
 • Rank    84th in the U.S.
Historical population
Census    Pop.        %±
1960    126,274        —

1970    152,929        21.1%
1980    207,704        35.8%
1990    240,593        15.8%
2000    368,374        53.1%
2010    520,589        41.3%
Est. 2014    537,631        3.3%

The Springfield-Branson, Missouri Combined Metropolitan Area, as defined by the United States Census Bureau, is an area consisting of seven counties in southwestern Missouri, anchored by the city of Springfield - the state's third largest city. Other primary population centers in the metro area include Branson, Nixa, Ozark, Republic, Marshfield, Bolivar, and Willard. Currently, the city limits of Springfield reach the Ozark City limits at the Christian County line on US 65, the city limits of Republic at James River Freeway on the southwest side of the city, and the Strafford city limits on Route 744 on the northeast side of the city. As of the 2010 census, the MSA had a population of 520,589, though the 2014 Estimates place the population at 537,631. Springfield and its suburbs are experiencing another large growth spurt similar to the one from the 2001 to 2010 time frame that put the area on the list of the fastest growing US metropolitan areas. New Shopping centers, education opportunities, job and industry growth, revampt city transit and historical value make Springfields urban sprawl a eye catcher and an appealing choice for relocation. 



Northwest Arkansas is located in USA Northwest ArkansasNorthwest Arkansas
States     Arkansas
Largest cities    Fayetteville
Other Municipalities    Bella Vista
Elm Springs
Siloam Springs
 • Total    3,213.01 sq mi (8,321.7 km2)
Population (2013)
 • Total    513,559 [1] (105th)
 • Density    153/sq mi (59/km2)

Northwest Arkansas (NWA, officially designated by the United States Census Bureau as the Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers Metropolitan Statistical Area) includes Fayetteville, Springdale, Rogers, and Bentonville, the third, fourth, eighth and tenth largest cities in Arkansas. These cities are located within Benton and Washington counties; NWA also includes Madison County in Arkansas and McDonald County, Missouri, per the Census Bureau definition.

As per the 2014 United States Census Bureau estimates, NWA is the 105th largest metropolitan statistical area in the United States (513,559 residents)[2] and the 23rd fastest growing in the US. The MSA covers 3,213.01 sq mi (8,322 km2), located within the Boston Mountains and Springfield Plateau subsets of The Ozarks.

Northwest Arkansas doubled in population between 1990 and 2010. Growth has been driven by the three Fortune 500 companies based in NWA: Walmart Stores, Inc., Tyson Foods, and J.B. Hunt Transport Services, Inc., as well as over 1,300 suppliers and vendors drawn to the region by these large businesses and NWA's business climate. The region has also seen significant investment in amenities, including the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, the Walmart AMP, and the NWA Razorback Regional Greenway.








Springfield Hwy 65 - 6 Lane Expansion.jpg

Downtown Springfield Missouri.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.