Chicago's Azzar

arcturus

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Eminent domain is tough in Michigan after the constitutional amendment about 10 years ago.  The property can't be taken to transfer it to another private party for development; there is a heightened burden of proof when the taking is for blight elimination; and the payment must be 125% of FMV.

4 hours ago, discgrab21 said:

Eminent domain is tough in Michigan after the constitutional amendment about 10 years ago.  The property can't be taken to transfer it to another private party for development; there is a heightened burden of proof when the taking is for blight elimination; and the payment must be 125% of FMV.

From the article:  ' Bill Davies found himself receiving a crash course in Chicago-style politics when it was announced last weekend that the city would buy back the Post Office through invoking eminent domain. '

I'm no expert on eminent domain but it's hard to believe Michigan's laws can be any tougher than Illinois.  That said, the city of Chicago clearly has authority.  What's unclear is the role of the state, whether MI or IL.  Is this authority granted by the state?  Or are cities like Chicago or Grand Rapids free to do this autonomously, without state authority?

Keeler is a public hazard, eyesore, embarrassment, and arguably more neglected than the Post Office.  Why neuter a law which effectively gives owners carte blanche to continue neglecting their property?  Of any building begging for a ED invocation Keeler is certainly the one to cure its erection dysfunction.