Asheville Photo of the Day

KJHburg

Wonderful updated pictures of Asheville, especially in the downtown!! As usual KJHburg, your photos/statements of development throughout the state is appreciated.......Greenville NC must be on your next trip.  I am reading about a lot of development on citydata.com in that neck of the woods!!

• Like 1

9 hours ago, rancenc said:

Wonderful updated pictures of Asheville, especially in the downtown!! As usual KJHburg, your photos/statements of development throughout the state is appreciated.......Greenville NC must be on your next trip.  I am reading about a lot of development on citydata.com in that neck of the woods!!

I will be there in June to visit my alma mater and friends in town. Last summer when I went I was blown away at all the apartments and multifamily built. ECU has almost doubled in size since I graduated from there and yet no new university owned housing. It was unbelievable. 

Asheville is one of my favorite cities in the state and it is booming in every direction and especially downtown and intown. 

• Like 1

• 1 month later...

This is really a City you don't want to boom too much or it'll kill off everything that is nice about it. Blight by deep pocketed thoughtless development is a thing. If too many more Suburbans and Escalades keep showing up, I'm making Knoxville my go-to Appalachian CIty (I realize Knox is downhill a bit...). Granted so far so good (mostly) in Asheville, but Industrial scale tourism has ruined a lot of good things (Arches, Acadia, Yellowstone...)

Edited by Jones_

• 1 month later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Another reason to love Asheville this tree house north of town in Woodfin as an Airbnb rental.  http://www.citizen-times.com/story/news/local/2017/12/26/buncombe-county-treehouse-seen-hgtv-stakes-claim-novelty-lodging-market/960811001/