Hi, rookie Moderator here!!

I accepted this position with great reluctance and only after a couple of months of friendly persuasion by Smeagolsfree and Mark.  I only took on the task because I have been posting here since 2006 and appreciate that does largely strive to be a political free zone. I just want to read about the development of Nashville and don't want it to become like Facebook  currently is (BTW, you can hide comments from certain individuals as I have done myself in the past) . Having said that, I don't want to be heavy-handed and start deleting and banning people as was apparently the tendencies of some of the original national moderators a decade or so ago. 

I know the political world affects the city's development in a large way, such as the BRT proposal from a few years ago, the Mayor's current difficulties and the general relationship between City and State and the Nation. We can't ignore the elephant in the room, but we can have a discussion on the merits of a proposal without rancor or bitterness. 

However, a few points..

• I think we can broach some of the issues without getting personal and by that I mean attacking others or their political and/or religious beliefs.  For instance, saying that 'Mugwumps are a bunch of spineless morons' is what I would consider a personal attack if I or anyone else was a Mugwump regardless of how 'friendly and jokingly' they may claim the context of the post to be.
  • Stick to facts and numbers  and cite the sources.  Avoid general pejorative statements and stick to the facts.
  • Don't attack by link. If you don't think you can say something directly about a subject because it may be inflammatory, then don't publish a link that serves the same purpose.