Sign in to follow this  
eandslee

VCU Health Outpatient Facility Tower (16-17 Stories)

More crane parts just showed up at the construction site!  These crane parts look like tower crane parts!!  It's all starting to happen folks!

38 minutes ago, Shakman said:

Are you referring to the red pieces of something on the flat bed?  

Yes!

1 hour ago, Shakman said:

Are you referring to the red pieces of something on the flat bed?  

I am second-guessing my assumption that the latest crane pieces are parts of a tower crane.  It almost looks like they are part of an extension to the current mobile crane on site (to make it taller).  :(

I think this one will need a tower crane, here's why I think so, I'm not an expert  but thinking out loud.   

Height - building will be too tall, but looking on line, there are mobile that seem to be able to get up the 16-17 story,  VCU Gladding was 12 stories, was max'd out it looked like, the last floors the crane was basically vertical to lift up.  

Mass - Unlike the VCU Gladding residence building, which was all mobile, this building  will have no court yard to drive the mobile crane around  to all the positions required to get  the material up.

If it is a tower crane, I think there will be a pad for it.  They dinked around this area for quite awhile, see red arrow below, this is in the lower left of the overall site. 

I think there was something underground, but perhaps this could also be a base, but may just be the underground utility, drain, etc.  We'll keep our eyes open for pad(s), think this project could have 2 cranes?

VCU_Health_Outpatient_Facility_#1-20180822-125252.jpg

Edited by Hike

Those maybe utility vaults.  I do remember a hole with form work a couple of weeks ago in this location.   If you look back to 8/14/2018 frame the zoom into this area, you can see the form work.  Though a tower crane in this vicinity would make sense.

If the foundation has caissons, then this would explain why the crawler is onsite.