Let’s get it started again!

gvsusean

• 2 weeks later...

On 9/14/2019 at 9:35 PM, gvsusean said:

I just moved to Kzoo... I have been an active member on the GR forum since 2005... let’s get this one going again! Anyone got any pics of kzoo to share or any tips on new developments??

Good luck getting this sub going. I really hope it works. I wanna see that new development downtown. I also hear they're starting chatter about a new arena again!

• 9 months later...

Maybe I can help fire things up again. I just joined Urban Planet (although I have silently followed the Grand Rapids discussions for many years). I'm an Architect living in Kalamazoo and I provide pretty regular Kalamazoo updates on skyscraperpage and skyscrapercity (and it's pretty quiet on those forums too). Here is a copy-paste job of my most recent update from a few days ago, for most of the higher-profile projects happening around town, to help get things going again. There is (still) a lot going on! Welcome to town, gvsusean!

These are from last Saturday (7/11/20) and they are just in the order that I came across them. A mix of driving and walking, and a mix of things big and small, suburban and urban.

King-Westwood Elementary School Addition and Remodel -
y4mNoGxaVQlJNeHxhiJp8ym80HOeqGRWCdsNz9q0

y4mg0beFZNtq41sji9NB4dEUTYEpX2B_l8RPychZ

Consumers Credit Union Branch - this was a fast new build on the northwest corner of Drake and West Main. An older bank branch was demolished to make way for this. The branch functioned out of a mobile trailer in an adjacent parking lot while this went up. Looks like it is just abut ready to open -
y4ma2R0b2nEVZ8ez1VDzxT_hT8fDQ2Qc6oF7aTuV

y4m2_-kX_8I6BDNMiw_OCJb9U33QXYs7TDSJz4iS

y4myRMIhrhiw0PPtRyBebPGyFV2lkI3pnqbRZHKh

In contrast, across the street on the NE corner of Drake and West Main is the site of the slowest-moving project in town, a new Chik-Fil-A (only the region's 2nd) -
y4mhf-lftH14XF6fOYbVBI5Qb6p02wK0iNkDCKXi