Would you send your kids to your city's public sch

Are there any major cities in the U.S. which have a public school system you would send your kids to? It seems with all this urban renewal that one thing that our cities are still not attracting are families, contrary to Canadian and European cities.

One criteria I like to look at is SAT scores- gauges the overall ability of your child to adapt to unfamiliar and make wise choices/ educated guesses which is a function of the overall quality of their education. Also graduation rate is important. I kind of disregard state exams because they have been changed around so much and sometimes I believe biased to give better results...

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am a student of Douglas County(GA)'s Public School system. It is just outside of Atlanta.

I would send my kids there. It is one of GA's best. Several State Schools of Excellence, National Blue Ribbon School, and a Georgia Lighthouse School to watch.

The Blue Ribbon, one of the Schools of Excellence, and the Lighthouse school all belong to one school, Chapel Hill Middle School.

I am a student of Douglas County(GA)'s Public School system. It is just outside of Atlanta.

I would send my kids there. It is one of GA's best. Several State Schools of Excellence, National Blue Ribbon School, and a Georgia Lighthouse School to watch.

The Blue Ribbon, one of the Schools of Excellence, and the Lighthouse school all belong to one school, Chapel Hill Middle School.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Yes, but that public school system is not within Atlanta's city limits. Most people who have kids live outside city limits and send kids to a school outside city limits. Anyone here live and send your kids to school within city limits? By city I mean populations ay 300,000 or higher.