Downtown Buildings for Development

comingtocolumbia

I am a residential developer looking at buildings or lots to build in the downtown area of Columbia. I figured this might be a good place to start. If these are not appropriate questions for this board let me know. Does anyone know of any interesting buildings downtown that might have the potential to be converted to apartments or Condos? Also, what characteristics and features are people in Columbia looking for in apartments and condos? Thanks

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the forum!

This topic is questionable to me. We have a very strict policy against conducting business on this forum. However, the questions you ask seem like a legitimate topic for discussion, depsite your intent. So, I am going to close this thread for now, and discuss it with the higher-ups. I will try to have an answer later tonight. Thanks in advance for your patience.

This is a good thread, so please stay on topic.

There are many lofts being constructed along Main St. Perhaps you've heard of the Barringer building rennovation into apartments? The Kress Building? I think that just abuot any building that can be retrofitted into a residential place would be great.

There is the old fire house on Senate St, which would make excellent apartments. That has been discussed before. Some people want to tear it down, and others want to keep it.

I agree with Spartan about the old firehouse. It would make great apartments or condos. There are also still a few undeveloped 2nd and 3rd floors above businesses on Main and Assembly Streets. As far as lots go, If you could buy the block bounded by Elmwood, Main, Sumter and Calhoun and develop that property, everyone in Columbia would be grateful. That property used to house an auto dealership that moved and there have been various other small business to occupy part of the property. I think that would be a great parcel to develop and I bet its all owned by the same people.