Shelters and Missions

GaryP

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Gary P

I share the same concern. I'm a paramedic in G.R. and spend way to much time (and you are all spending way too much of your hard-earned money) dealing with these bums in the heartside area. Some of them are hilarious and a lot of fun to talk to but others are downright scumbags. I've been assaulted more times then I can count by these guys. My partner, a single mother of three, is finally able to stop covering up her black-eye with make-up. I'm sure her daughters were proud that their mother got beat-up by a drunk downtown.

I don't know what business owner is going to be attracted to an area like Heartside. Even if they know that these guys usually aren't any trouble, the average customer doesn't. Why would the average person choose to live, or shop, where they have to deal with bums peeing on their doorstep when they have other options? Look at Heartside park? How many families and kids do you see playing there. It's become a meeting ground and campground for the homeless.

Please don't get me wrong...I'm not evil and without compassion. I'm a financial supporter of Mel Trotter. I do wonder, though, if we need to move these facilities somewhere.

It's not actually just the homeless though. Many of the unemployed (also living off you and me) that live in second floor apartments on S. Division also spend all day loitering on the street. While they aren't dangerous they still create a very unattractive business climate.