Downtown Living

GRDadof3

Keep in mind that I am NOT a developer or realtor looking to do research, but merely a curious forumer ;)

For those forumers (like me) who don't live downtown, and aren't planning to move, I was wondering what would interest you, or is preventing you, from living downtown. Is it:

Perception of the school system

Lack of housing options (would you like to see something different downtown)

Homeless people South of downtown

Crime and/or gangs (although not really right downtown)

Parking

Etc.

For me (and moreso my wife), it is the school situation. We go to an inner-ring suburban district, but I find it to be pretty plain vanilla. I would like to give my kids some more exposure to the world, but I also want them to be prepared to go on to a GOOD college. We did send my daughter to a Spanish emersion school for pre-school, which I thought was excellent.

Sorry to ramble, but I was curious after reading the demographics page.

Jeff

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Housing options and safety. I would like a place where I could have a small yard for the dog, feel safe at night walking the dog and have easy access to a car. Having to walk a few blocks with groceries in the winter does not appeal. Give me a townhome, on the river, overlooking the skyline, 3000 sqft, granite countertops, all for 150,000. I am there. Oh, and add an other dog park in front of the Ford Museum.

For me (and moreso my wife), it is the school situation.  We go to an inner-ring suburban district, but I find it to be pretty plain vanilla.  I would like to give my kids some more exposure to the world, but I also want them to be prepared to go on to a GOOD college.  We did send my daughter to a Spanish emersion school for pre-school, which I thought was excellent.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>