Why are cities more liberal?

It has been 44 years since Minneapolis had a Republican Mayor and I can't remeber any Republican city council members. In fact, I don't know if the Republicans even run any candidates.

Makes me wonder-- have the Republicans given up in the cities? -- or is it that they simply have no solutions for urban problems and therefore can't win an election?

This is not a Jab --but an honest question. Why, in general, do Republicans fair so poorly in Urban areas?

Even among upper class whites --those in Urban areas are more liberal?

What's going on?

• Replies 276
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have no credible knowledge of this, it's just my opinion.

I think people move to a city when they want to do whatever they want, and have everything they could need at their fingertips. Cities also tend to have more colleges and universities, thus bringing culture and a carefree attitude.

It has been 44 years since Minneapolis had a Republican Mayor and I can't remeber any Republican city council members. In fact, I don't know if the Republicans even run any candidates.

Makes me wonder-- have the Republicans given up in the cities? -- or is it that they simply have no solutions for urban problems and therefore can't win an election?

This is not a Jab --but an honest question.  Why, in general, do Republicans fair so poorly in Urban areas?

Even among upper class whites --those in Urban areas are more liberal?

What's going on?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Really ? No Republican city council members ? Even NYC has several Republicans on the city council.

To one of your questions, yes, I believe it's true that Republicans have given up on the large cities, at least to some extent. And in any case, the 2004 election served to underscore the increasing political irrelevance of the large cities.

Isn't the mayor of NYC Republican? (At least the ex-mayor was)