MSA Question

Relient J

I'm new to Middle Tennessee, having moved to Murfreesboro from Florida in March, so I hope no one will take offense at my asking the following question out of a lack of understanding: What cities/counties constitute Nashville's MSA? I ask because not too long ago I referred to Franklin as being a part of metro-Nashville on my blog. The result of that is that I got an IM from someone who has lived in the area a lot longer than I have who said something like, "Since when did Franklin become metro-Nashville?" For almost a year I lived in a town that's about forty miles northwest of Atlanta, Georgia, yet is still considered metro Atlanta, so it seemed logical to me that a city in a county adjacent to a big city like Nashville would be part of metro-Nashville. Was I totally and completely off base with that assumption?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

No you were not off base. They probably thought you meant Metro Nashville Davidson county which is its own entity, but Williamson county is included in Nashvilles' metropolitan statistical area along with I believe 12 other counties which I am not going to name because I'm lazy and I'm not completly sure of all of them. Hope that helps. :)

Franklin is in Nashville's metro, but not Metro-Nashville.

Here are the counties in Nashville's MSA: Davidson (Nashville), Cheatham (Ashland City, Kingston Springs), Dickson (Dickson), Maury (Columbia), Montgomery (Clarksville), Robertson (Springfield), Ruthersford (Murfreesboro, La Vergne, Smyrna), Sumner (Gallatin, Hendersonville, Portland), Williamson (Franklin, Spring Hill, Fairview), Wilson (Lebanon, Mt. Juliet).

10 Total Counties.

By the way, this was 1997, but I don't think there were any changes.

Oh yeah. Since 1997 there were some changes. This is the current 2004 list for the MSA.

1. Cannon County

2. Cheatham County

3. Davidson County

4. Dickson County

5. Hickman County

6. Macon County

7. Robertson County

8. Rutherford County