New Orleans

jjoshjl

JUST THROWING THIS OUT THERE...

I am by no means an expert at this stuff so, take it at that...

So, i am seeing these pictures of NO pretty much becoming part of Lake Pontchartrain, so if this is turning into a true Nightmare scenario, (and taking into the fact they jsut ordered complete evacuation of NO... Never in my life have I heard that for ANY city,, even emptying out shelters), do you think itpossible that NO or atleast pars of NO could simply be abandonded and left to Mothernature...

Dont get me wrong I would hate it if that happened, and I am sure it is over blowing the situation, but one cant help but wonder when you look at the pictures of the Superdoom being an island...

PLEASE.. Correct me if I am wrong...

Just was curious if I was the only one to think this...

Josh

PS: DONTATE ANYTHING YOU CAN TO HELP THE RELIEF EFFORT...

They are going to need it

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I look at it, in a different type of way. Many American cities, that have suffered from natural diasters, boomed (because of the rebuilding efforts) instead of being abandoned. Growth in South Florida has shot up, since hurricane Andrew, Chicago went on a skyscraper boom after its great fire, San Fransico rebuilt after its great earthquake and even Jax went through a massive boom, resulting in a large amount of Prairie School structures being built after the fire of 1901. As bad as it is, from looking at history, this tragic event could eventually bring people and investment, back into the city.

Having lived in NO, it is a very grim situation there. NO will however rebound from this. It will definitely take time and untold amounts of money, but the city is one that will bounce back. They are in a bit a of quandry at the current moment however - given one of there pumps is down, they can't pump enough water out to repair it.