Will High Oil Prices Derail Charlotte Projects?

monsoon

My! Everyone disappeared at once. Are all of you out filling your tanks?

While I am not a prophet and have no idea what will happen. One scenario for very high gas prices is that it will also put a big damper on downtown construction. It's an unfortunate fact that 3 decades after the oil shocks of the 70s our economy is highly dependant upon oil to keep running. So even if you don't drive much, such as myself, this situation is going to effect everyone if it persists.

For example, oil is needed to transport building materials, groceries, packages, and everything else a modern city needs to exist. Expect that prices will rise on all of this. A major project like the Vue is going to cost a lot more to build because the energy needed to put up something like this is mainly comes from oil as does the transportation of labor to the site. A huge spike in cost might derail a few of the proposed projects.

Along with this once inflation takes hold, because oil affects the cost of everything, interest rates will rise as well. (they have to to keep the banks profitable) The increase in rates will limit the ability of people to pay the prices they are currently asking for high priced property in Charlotte. No buyers, no projects. When this happened the first time in the 1970s, I was a young teenager living in Myrtle Beach, and a number of highrise projects under construction, just stopped. They couldn't even afford to take the cranes down and they remained for several years. One was even named the Myrtle Beach Christmas tree.

High gas prices are an inconvience for people that have to commute, and they will learn to deal with it, but it is the less obvious effects that might cause a lot of trouble in the long term for everyone in Charlotte. I wish we had not forgotten the lessons that were learned in the 1970s.

What do you think?

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply