MARTA Experiences After Gas Hikes

ryancs

After the gas hike yesterday and sudden "shortage" of gas in Atlanta, I finally decided to give MARTA a try for my commute into downtown this morning.

I've been a metro area resident (ie, East Cobb resident - I know, I know, Snob County) for a little over a year now and to date, MARTA has had zero appeal. Traffic, believe it or not, really is NOT that bad here and I've really never had much of a problem getting to work in either the Galleria area or downtown. But after paying almost $50 bucks at the pump last night, the thought entered my mind that my 40 mile daily round-trip downtown was adding up quickly. Evidently, I'm not the only one as today's AJC reports MARTA passenger traffic is spiking as of late.

Anyway, here are my thoughts on my MARTA ride and mass transit in Atlanta:

1. Overall it was a good experience. I traveled from the Sandy Springs station to Peachtree Center in about 25 minutes - 50 minutes total from my house to downtown. Parking was free and using MARTA saved about a gallon of gas which includes the commutes to and from the station (or about the equivalent of a standard $1.75 fare times two). Also, the rail cars were only moderately full as I traveled during off-peak times.

2. Traveling that cooridor into downtown makes you realize how un-urbanized Atlanta is. The majority of the trip you see nothing but nice green trees. It is a very spacious city which doesn't bode well for the practicalities of mass rail transportation. Each station, besides the ones in midtown/downtown are pretty much islands. Once you get off the train, something better be fairly close to MARTA unless you are up for a hike.

3. Side note: What is up with the bare rock walls / subterranian landscape in some of the stations?