Is sprawl really so bad?

Newnan

I'm fairly new to Urban Planet and since I've been here I've noticed that pretty much all of you HATE sprawl. I agree with you to some extent, sprawl can be ugly and scattered and unpleasant. But I think if these developments are done the right way than sprawl can be all right. if there's not a lot of it and it has trees and grass and incorporates itself with the surroundings than I don't think it's so bad. Am I totally off? Tell me what you think

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's not so much the physical aspects of sprawl that I hate (I mean subdivisions with huge yards are nice looking at least), its the side effects that it causes which I hate, including segregation, traffic congestion, lack of physical activity, auto-dependency, loss of open space, anti-social behavior, etc. and I could go on and on.

When I think of sprawl, I think of every house looking almost the same with that cheap vinyl siding and being once inch apart from each other, with no trees left in the lot.. and I'd really like to see "smart growth" as opposed to sprawl as I described it. Save some trees perhaps, it wouldn't hurt to put a little room between the houses and make the community a little more connected/walkable

Sprawl creates places without a sense of place. I can't see how anyone could defend the smear of WalMarts and JiffyLubes across the land. There MUST be a better way to live.....Suburbs are a fact of life, but they should be connected to cities with alternatives to the automobile.