RTP area vs Charlotte for relocation for Professio

chocoholic

I am a married physician, looking to relocate my family to one of the above 2 areas. I would like a place that I can establish a practice,

2. a place with a vibrant cultural life with plenty of mintellectual stimulus

3.a place that is fairy liberal ( I am black, my husband is white),

4. a place where there is a sizable black MIDDLE and UPPER MiDDLE class population

5. Good educational system

6. relatively low crime rate.

I am relocating from North New Jersey.

Any ideas?

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am a married physician, looking to relocate my family to one of the above 2 areas. I would like a place that I can establish a practice,

4. a place where there is a sizable black MIDDLE and UPPER MiDDLE class population

Any ideas?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

The Raleigh area would probably suit your needs the best. However, urban areas in NC are still very conservative compared to their northern counterparts. But, I'm not sure if, by liberal, you mean politically or culturally.

Raleigh does have a growing number of Middle Class black neighborhoods and you'll find many communities that have many families from diverse ethnicity.

IMHO, Raleigh is, by far, the cultural center of NC. We have Three Symphonies, Two professional opera companies, two professional Theatre groups, multiple "fine arts academies" and the most educated work force in the nation (highest # of Ph. D's per capita in the U.S.)

The rest of your needs would be better answered by the other knowledgeable persons on this forum. Good luck, and let us know where you decide to go.

Any ideas?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Charlotte gets my vote, but I am biased. :P

It seems to me that most of the people on my floor are from NJ or NYC. I know this does not help answer your question as to where is best to relocate, but I just thought I would throw that out there for what its worth.