What is everyone's profession on here?

paletexan

There are so many knowledgeable folks on these forums, and I was curious if it's appropriate to ask what everyone does professionally (whether it relates to urban development, or not).

For myself, I just enjoy reading about urban development and quality of life in my community. I am a software engineer and work in Morrisville (reside in W. Raleigh). So, I have no professional input to offer, but like to post anyways. :)

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm in IT, and I work/live in Morrisville. Yay for RTP. I'd rather be living in downtown Raleigh or Durham, but I chose to live close to work so I wouldn't need a car. Life is good. :%s/good/cheap/

Urban planning and transit are really just hobbies. Or perhaps 'obsessions' would be a more appropriate term.

I work in RTP in the IT field. Everyday I find new ways to hate the physical nature of RTP. I hate being glued to my car. RTP is almost exclusively large disconnected campuses with no street frontage and huge parking lots hidden behind acres of trees.

There is no retail or residential in the park at all (probably by design), so going anywhere for lunch, or to obtain fuel, bubble gum, office supplies, etc requires getting in your car and actually leaving the 7000 acre park to track down the aforementioned materials.

There are a number of cafes and little stores in my campus, as well as others... so being in your car is not a necessity, but that also creates a monopoly in a way since leaving your campus for another one is not really a viable option.

Durham County around the perimeter of the park seems to be developed enough with shopping centers of varying quality (heh), restaurants, a little residential, and loads more office space... but it still doesn't change the fact that RTP's code of development is perhaps a bit dated.