Amsterdam Research

derbycity

I was wondering if anyone could tell me where a uni-lingual american could find GIS data on Amsterdam in regards to land use and population data such as age, income etc. I am doing some pre-research for a possible master of urban planning class in Amsterdam next spring and was hoping to put together some comparisons between Amsterdam and a similar North American city not yet determined such as Vancouver. I am using ArcGIS and would like to find some hopefully free (I am a poor graduate student) data layers to download and do some analysis. Thanks for any help.

• 1 month later...

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was wondering if anyone could tell me where a uni-lingual american could find GIS data on Amsterdam in regards to land use and population data such as age, income etc. I am doing some pre-research for a possible master of urban planning class in Amsterdam next spring and was hoping to put together some comparisons between Amsterdam and a similar North American city not yet determined such as Vancouver. I am using ArcGIS and would like to find some hopefully free (I am a poor graduate student) data layers to download and do some analysis. Thanks for any help.

Hi there,

I'm sorry to reply this late. I only read your post now.

I am a first-year Human Geography and Urban & Regional Planning student in the Netherlands. I'm studying in Utrecht and not in Amsterdam.

I'm not familiar (yet) with the GIS system. I think that I would be able to help you with statistics about the population of Amsterdam, though. I know how to find some information on Amsterdam's population data and I could translate that into english, if you still need it because this thread is almost 2 months old.