Global Warming and Hurricanes

Viper

This is a continuation of a debate in the Rita thread.

It is well documented that we were warmer in the early 20th century than we are now.

It is also well documented that we are still coming off of an ice age, hence the heating.

If anyone agrees with the Butterfly Effect than we can just blame African butterflies for being more active than normal.

As a scientist, I'm going to say what real scientists say when situations like this come up.

I don't know.

Evidence is so easily skewed one way or the other. If you want me to, I can show how each of those charts posted in the other thread can have fully biased data. It works both ways though. Counter arguments can just as easily have biased data.

Someone made a great point in the other thread. If we can barely predict the weather next week, who are we to say what next year shall be like?

• Replies 134
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I recommend Michael Crichton's new book, State Of Fear, which debunks the global warming hysteria:  http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detai...=glance&s=books

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

This book has been largely debunked by scientists. In this book, Michael Chrichton uses data that includes end point bias (the data only covers time periods in which a small cooling trend took place) and then covers it by saying the data was incomplete. Besides, it's a science FICTION book written by someone who knows much about playing on emotions and with words and very little about science.

By the way, scientists were convinced about climate change in 1975 too:  http://www.globalclimate.org/Newsweek.htm

Yes, global cooling was coming and we were all going to starve.  This was just 30 years ago.  Does this provide any doubt to some of you?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>