About North Mecklenberg

chocoholic

I am moving to the the Charlotte area; my new job will be in Salisbury, NC for 1 year and then will shift to the University area. I am looking outside of Charlotte and am considering Huntersville, Cornelius and Davidson. Does any body have any input about these communities? I am a black physician and I was wondering how tolerant these places are;I am also wondering about the quality of life afforded by the areas. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am moving to the the Charlotte area; my new job will be in Salisbury, NC for 1 year and then will shift to the University area. I am looking outside of Charlotte and am considering Huntersville, Cornelius and Davidson. Does any body have any input about these communities? I am a black physician and I was wondering how tolerant these places are;I am also wondering about the quality of life afforded by the areas. Thanks in advance.

I don't know much about these areas besides that they are up-scale! Where you are moving from....?

I will tell you right off the commute from Lake Norman (Huntersville, Cornelius & Davidson) to Salisbury will not be an easy one and it is not expected to get better anytime soon. You might want to consider a home somewhere off I-85. I think as far as being a Black professional, you should be more than fine anywhere in Mecklenburg county or in Iredell near Lake Norman. However while there are a few upscale communities in Cabarrus and Rowan counties, I really would not suggest moving to either one of these places as most of it is pretty intolerant in my opinion.

Just to chime in, I have African-American professional friends in Concord (Cabarrus Co.) who love it. I really wouldn't know either way as I don't spend too much time there. I do know that the University Area is really popular for lots of people with mixed backgrounds, races, and income levels.