Winston-Salem's Crystal Lake

Myles Away

I know this is the wrong forum to ask about Winston-Salem but can anyone tell me more about Crystal Lake? Is it still there? What was it like years ago?

Crystal_Lake_14.jpg

I found this on the place:

Crystal Lake meant the place for a cool refreshing dip, or dancing to beach music on the Juke box with a favorite date on a summer afternoon.

Along with the Olympic-size swimming pool, which included an observation deck to watch swimming and diving, there was also a boating lake, and a dance hall.

The diving tower was said to be the highest in the state. In addition, in the pool area, there was a huge water wheel and a large fountain. Crystal Lake was built around 1923, and continuously operated until the 1970's.

I've been told this was once the largest city in North Carolina and built some large attractions during the 20's. I want to visit some of these places now that I'm a resident here. I did find a some photos of the place but the forum won't let me post them. It gives an IMG tag error message. It looks sweet in the photos!

• 2 weeks later...

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 1 month later...

You are correct Mylws Away, Crystal Lake was the place to go in the summer. There was a great upstairs pavilion with a juke box, and lots of room for dancing overlooking one of the two "crystal lakes", which were of course usually grennish muddy. The diving platform had a 24 ft, 16 ft, and 8 ft, along with two pool side mounted (one on each side) 3 ft boards. The two 3 ft. boards, of course, along with the 8 ft. were spring boards whilst the 16 ft. and 24 ft. were boards extending over the pool but staionary. There was a rumor that there was at one time a 32 ft., but I cannot verify that. Sometome in the 1960's the 24 ft. was removed, too dangerous.