K-12 Education in South Carolina

krazeeboi

I just recently came across an article in the journal Education Next published by the Hoover Institution, which is a public policy research center of Stanford University. Essentially, it says that SC has higher academic proficiency standards than many other states, and other states have lower standards which essentially inflate their rankings.

An excerpt:

Some states have risen to the challenge and set demanding proficiency levels for their students, while others have used lower standards to inflate reported performance. Not only is the disparity confusing, but, perversely enough, the states with the highest expectations often stand accused of having the most schools said to be in need of improvement-even when their students are doing relatively well...

...if only 50 percent of a state

• Replies 165
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

With my new wife being a teacher, I have been enlightened into why our state does so poorly in national tests. First is the point that you presented in the article, krazee. Test taking procedures are followed to the tee in SC, and no classroom is given leeway in how it is administered. A monitor is in the test room (with the teacher!) to ensure that no mistakes are made or answers to the questions given away. Other states' teachers have been known to do the latter. Secondly, every single student in the entire system in SC is tested, regardless of handicap or disability. Mentally retarded students, Downs' syndrome kids, and children with other debilitating illnesses and diseases are all required to take the national tests...and this brings down the state average significantly. Other states only test "healthy" students. So now when I see articles in the news saying how we are close to last in school tests, I read it with a bit of skepticism.

• 5 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...