Beale street Landing

ricky_the_great

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's just a reflection of the possibilities for the Front Street Promenade, I think...

One of the best things a city can do is make an impressive statement on their waterfront. This was done in Chattanooga and it has brought great publicity, increased civic pride, and increased tourism to the city. Memphis is no exception. And being on one the truly great rivers of the world, I think Memphis would be well served to do something like this.

• 1 year later...
  • 1 month later...

It's not cut off quite yet! That was a committee's recommendation. However, Tom Marshall was quoted in the CA today saying that the full council would definitely have the final vote. He also stated that he believes in the project and that if it doesn't happen, Memphis would be taking a major step backwards.

I want to vote for Tom Marshall! He's smart, well-spoken, has plenty of city gov't experience, is an architect by trade and is a big proponent of downtown redevelopment. Let's start a petition!

Some bad news on Beale Street Landing, as the city council's CIP committee has now cut off funding for the project.

http://memphis.bizjournals.com/memphis/sto...ml?surround=lfn

The sad thing about it is that political opposition got involved.