Street Signs

jpl02

Since I'm studying in the transportation area of Urban Planning, I find street signs interesting and fun to talk about.

What do you think of Tallahassee's street signs? I like the fact that they include block numbers (South Florida has NONE like this). The styles are sometimes inconsistent though, and some just plain suck. At Crawfordville and Capital Circle, the signs themselves are normal size, but the font is so frickin tiny! I also notice that a lot of those new, back-lit street signs are being placed around town that are so en vogue these days. They're very bright, but don't have block numbers, and don't indicate street type (St, Dr, Blvd, etc). They'll just say "BLAIR STONE" and "MAHAN" for example.

I'd like to see downtown use some decorative street signs, perhaps with the city seal. Other places do this; I just think it's a nice touch.

I hope I'm not the only person who thinks about street signs and these kind of things :P

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You're not alone here buddy! I have a thing for street signs.

One correction however. South Florida does infact have street signs with block numbers on them. There are pictures here on Urban Planet to prove it... I'm only saying this now because if I do, Aessotariq (of Miami) will.

I've got a growing collection of street signs that I will be sharing soon.

How do you feel about the directional signage?

I like the idea of having city seal on signs... I've seen that in places and it is attractive. Maybe thats something we can start to implement in the downtown area and move out from there.

I'm from South Florida, Miramar to be exact. Dade has none like that I have seen (we have numbered streets), and Broward has none either. Palm Beach definitely does, but they're in another world :P. But I haven't been home since last Christmas and could be wrong.