Living in Spokane

Blue

Hi everyone... as someone currently living in Southern California (not a SoCal native, just been here four years -- long enough to see house prices go from crazy to completely absurd), I've been searching for a more economical, nice place to live... and one of the places I've been thinking about is Spokane. I've been to the city a few times, but generally only for a day or two, so I have a few questions if nobody minds...

1) People -- what are the people like in Spokane -- they have always seemed very friendly to me. I'm a nearly 30-year-old single male... will I find other people in a similar situation as me -- in other words, late 20s/early 30s people, particularly at least some single people? As far as my personality type.. I'm a big sports fan, enjoy going out to restaurants/bars (not really clubs though), pretty casual, not into trends or anything like that.

2) Jobs -- What is the job market like? My background is in journalism/public relations/media/marketing fields... is there much for jobs in those fields? Also, how "formal" are the workplaces? Are they still suit and tie, or are they more casual?

3) Climate -- I know Spokane is beautiful in summer, and the only time I've been there in winter, it was 60s and sunny -- but I know that is not normal winter weather! I have mainly lived in cold northern climates, so cold doesn't bother me.. but how dreary are the winters? Is there quite a bit of sun, or is it cloudy and dreary much of the time like Minneapolis or Seattle?

4) Housing -- what is the housing market like? Can you still get a condo or townhome in the $250,000 or under range (there isn't a chance in SoCal)... is there quite a bit of new construction? What areas do you recommend? I would prefer new housing, as since I have a lot of allergies, it tends to create less issues.

Thanks for your help! :)

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply