Greensboro: Photo thread

SouthJersey7

Hello all, I am a UNCG student with a digital camera :D and I decided to take some photos from around Greensboro. This first batch is not far from the UNCG campus, and is devoted to my favorite kind of urban photo, that is average street scenes. The buildings in this thread, it seems were part of a larger urban fabric at one time but now are surrounded by single-use structures, one-story buildings in other words "sprawl". As a result many of such buildings are now looking a bit shabby. But on the other hand I do notice some are being fixed up. Anyway these pics aren't great I'm a VERY amateur photographer. And I will be adding more to the thread later. The point of these photos, will be to try to imagine what Greensboro might have looked like decades ago, before the age of "urban renewal" and to imagine what it could look like if urban living becomes a dominant pattern once more. Note that these are NOT in downtown, but from interspersed neighborhoods.

59780250_3d19282d54.jpg

This is a pawn shop on Spring Garden street.

59780251_3029c93717.jpg

Further up on Spring Garden. One side a bar, and one side vacant.

59780249_ab39c72f92.jpg

Over on Lee st. This contains a tattoo parlor, a Caribbean restaurant and one that appears to be vacant. You can see the sign for the strip mall right next to it.

The areas where these photos were taken are not the greatest, and they're definately not pedestrian-oriented.. I can only imagine what a little infill development could do to transform these areas and "flesh out" the urban fabric. Anyway, thanks for reading. More to follow.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can only imagine what a little infill development could do to transform these areas and "flesh out" the urban fabric. Anyway, thanks for reading. More to follow.