Ziggy's and The Garage in danger of closing

intcvlcphlga

I'm not sure if anyone saw this article in the Journal,

http://www.journalnow.com/scripts/isapi_sr...tacodalogin=yes

but Wake Forest is rumored to be planning to buy Ziggy's and The Garage is closing too. Both of these live music venues are among the very few positive aspects of W-S's nightlife. Wake Forest students should protest their school's plans to buy Ziggy's if they are just planning to tear it down. Ziggy's is the Triad's premier band club and as a college student I used to go there whenever I was in town to see bands like Dave Matthews Band, The Samples, Phish, etc. And, the Garage is a great venue for experimental, local and east coast music. Why is it that Winston-Salem and the Triad cannot support these places? It's not as if there is much else to do on the weekends...Any thoughts?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Garage may get a second wind. I've heard that Richard Emmett, owner of the club, is wanting to sale shares at $1000 a share to local investors. His goal is to raise $100,000 that way and then have the club owned by the investors. He envisions the club then being run by a board of directors. Hopefully this will work out and keep the Garage open. The Garage is an important piece for downtown entertainment and I think lots of folks will be interested in helping keep the place going.

In related news, The Flying Anvil, will be opening soon in dt greensboro. That club will face similar challenges that Ziggy's and the Garage have faced. Hopefully it will work out.