Research Triangle Park (RTP) & the Triangle Biotech Cluster

DanRNC

Interesting comparison. I was curious as to whether they look for a high unemployment rate, or a low one in the study? A high one indicates lots of labor in the pool, but I do not think it's necessarily a good thing.

Has anyone ever been to Silicon Valley? How is the planning out there compared to rtp?

My humble opinion ??? We are very far off from beating "Silicon Valley". I work in the tech industry and travel to San Jose often, and I don't think we are not even close. Here are the differences as I see it. Outside of SAS and Red Hat, and if you want to count Tekelec, there are not many large WW HQs based in RTP/Triangle. We do have Sony-Ericcson NA HQ (maybe WW) and but few HQs or large sites. Nortel has shrunk to almost nothing and was not a regional site.

We do have Lenovo which the area should be doing whatever it can to keep it here, but the HQs is in NY and Beijing. We do have IBM which has been stated as their largest site in the world, but it has been dwindling. Having IBM has been a tremendous boost to the triangle and drives many jobs to the Triangle like small offices of companies that have support offices. Other tech companies have started from people leaving IBM but not like areas like San Jose or Boulder.

There are negative issues with the San Jose area, but what they do have is an

From what you saw, is Silicon Valley designed similar to RTP ( a sprawling office park ) ? Or did it have more of an identity, and life? I would imagine they have some really cool things to entertain that high end technology crowd at lunch time.

From what I know, Silicon Valley happened naturally due to a number of great schools that are located there and the entrepreneur spirit which was already mentioned. There was not an effort, that I know of, to bring companies in and design an office park.

Cisco, Google and a few others had their starts from Stanford University.