Higher education in South Carolina

krazeeboi

We all know that USC and Clemson pretty much dominate the state as far as educational institutions go. So this thread is for the oft-overlooked institutions that still do a pretty good job without as much regional and national prestige.

Of course, I have to start this thread off with my alma mater and current graduate institution, Winthrop University. The changes I've seen since I was a freshman in '98 to today are remarkable, with more on the way. It has a pretty high minority enrollment for a predominately white university at ~25%. The university continues to have one of the leading programs for in education and music in the state, and the men's basketball team has seen several stellar seasons lately, including Big South conference championships and NCAA tournament appearances. Hopefully this year, we can get past the first round. ;)

I think the institution that is really poised to do great things within the next few years is Claflin University in Orangeburg. Founded in 1869, it is the state's oldest historically black institution. In the U.S. News and World Report latest college rankings, it ranked 1st for best value among southern comprehensive colleges (for bachelor's degrees) 10th overall among southern comprehensive colleges (for bachelor's degrees) category (a few other schools in SC also made the list). The school also recently received a few grants, among which is one that goes to establishing a biotechnology masters program at the school. The new construction within the past 3 years on the campus has been phenomenal.

Hopefully, recent developments on SC State's campus will only be the beginning of great things to come there. The school recently broke ground on two much-needed residence halls and the James E. Clyburn University Transportation Center. I also believe the school is the only one in the state to grant masters degrees in transportation studies.