North Carolina and New England

Germaine

I spend a good deal of time in Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill (The "Research Triangle") and Charlotte as a urban planning consultant. Of all the Southern states where I work, North Carolina seems like the most similar to New England. Do any of you have any thoughts on the subject?

• 1 month later...

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I spend a good deal of time in Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill (The "Research Triangle") and Charlotte as a urban planning consultant. Of all the Southern states where I work, North Carolina seems like the most similar to New England. Do any of you have any thoughts on the subject?

Having lived in Charlotte and visited Greensboro a lot, they couldn't be more different in terms of culture, topography and overall lifestyle. I came back to New England with a smile on my face...because I was leaving NC.

I'm an urban planning consultant in the Boston metro and live in Providence. I grew up in Greensboro and my family still lives there. North Carolina and New England are nothing alike. I know a lot of people who have moved from NC to New England and vice versa and I have never heard anyone note similarities between the two places.

• 4 weeks later...

I grew up in northern Maine, and lived in Portland and Boston for many years. When I came to NC, I was amazed at how NC was so similar to parts of New England and upstate NY in terms of the natural surroundings (evergreens, hills and mountains) plus the mill towns, many of which share the same names such as Lowell. I've heard that NC mill builders looked to New England as a template. Of course, the first landscape differences you notice are the kudzu and vines.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Other than a good mix of forest and farmland, mountains and coastline, there's not much else in the way of comparisons.