Progress in Downtown W-S

twincity

I thought this would be a good time to do an update since so many projects are finally being implemented. i took these photos over the Thanksgiving weekend, so i didnt have time to cover all the projects. hopefully i can get photograph those during my christmas break.

same ole skyline pic:

skyline.jpg

i guess ill start off in the ptrp area. ive been asking this question on another forum for about 6 months now. What is going on here. This is the former camel city dry cleaners site and its in the central district of PTRP. will this be new resaerch space?

ptrp1.jpg

ptrp2.jpg

thats the site on the left on 4th st:

ptrp3.jpg

Piedmont Leaf Lofts - 33 units:

pll.jpg

The Gallery in the Goler Depot - 70 units? the empy lots on the right will be replaved with Goler Manor - 79 units 6 storys.

gallery.jpg

excuse the distortion. this neighborhood is going to have the best view.

golerview.jpg

someone on another forum said that this will be the site for the commuter rail station to serve downtown.

ptrpstation.jpg

same line going north through PTRP and Goler.

rail.jpg

a glimpse of the twincity quarter. again, i didnt have time to really photograph all the dowtown projects. shah is doing it up for these hotels/restauraunts. even though the 2 are open, there is still plenty construction going on. the Benton Convention Cenetr is just now starting its exterior facelift. the Starbucks on 5th is looking excellent and it think it should be open by the end of the year. no word on The Grille yet.

twcityquarter.jpg

Nissen Apartment ads on the base:

nissen.jpg

nissen2.jpg

The Mellow Mushroom...very modern exterior, flawless interior, very different in design from the other Mellow Mushrooms in NC. i predict that this will be the highlight of 4th street.

mellowmush.jpg

Traders' Row...cant wait to see those street level sports news casts:

traders.jpg

traders2.jpg

A dismantled church on cherry st.

steeple.jpg

church.jpg