Future of the MBTA

nowyano

completembta2.jpg

I have been bored over my break from School, I am a teacher not a student but at the end of the day I guess I am still a loser :(, anyway I started to look at the MBTA and different sites that talk about how to improve it (http://www.transportboston.com among others) and I came up with this new map taking several ideas from several sites. This is my ideal new map for the MBTA, and some of the changes:

Station Name Changes

1. Braintree Station is now Braintree Center

2. Aquarium Station is now Central Station

New Branches, Extensions and Connections

1. There are 3 additional Green Line Branches;

-Silver Line From Dudley Changed to Green Line Light Rail Starting at Hyde Square (Boston Proper) and Going to Copley Square (Boston Proper) where it would connect with the rest of the Green Line Transit system.

-Then 2 additional Green Line Branches past Lechmere to Tufts (Medford) the other to (3) Prospect Street (Somerville) both using old railroad or commuter rail right of way lanes. These are all suppose to be done to complete requirements for the Big Dig. Plus the Dane Street stop is an easy walk to Inman Sq in Cambridge the Prospect Street stop is an easy walk to Prospect Park in Somerville.

2. Red Line spur serving 2 stops in Watertown (Watertown Square and Arlington Street) and 2 stops in Cambridge (Mt. Auburn Hospital and Mt. Auburn Cemetary). This would stop a lot of the congestion on the 77 and 73 bus route along Mt. Auburn Street to Harvard Square. The buses cause a lot of pollution and are always, even during non rush hour times, filled to the max.

3. There is a Blue Line spur serving two stops in Chealsea (Chealsea Station and Chealsea Center). Chealsea like Somerville is completly underserved by the T.