Blogs

voyager12

I love reading Orangepolitics.org from Orange County NC. It runs the gamut from deveopment issues to social concerns. I wonder if such a site could be successful in Charlotte. I am not sure it would be because we lack the high level educational institutions that make the Triangle area progressive and concerned about such issues.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Urbanplanet has certainly educated me and its been a pleasure reading from many people who contribute to the site. I know a lot more about whats beyond my backyard than i did a year ago. Good way to also learn about South Carolina since im a new resident of the state and will be attending a four year school somewhere down there as well in about a year and a half. North Carolina on the other hand will always be my home :D

I knew UP was started in Charlotte. I think many people in this area are concerned and interested in a great future for the area. I was just pointing that I enjoy reading Orangepolitics.org. Mostly because I have friends in the Triangle area and visit there often. Charlotte is more business focused which is not a negative, it just lends to a less active political culture here because we don't have as many universities.

.... Charlotte is more business focused which is not a negative, it just lends to a less active political culture here because we don't have as many universities.

Maybe you need to be more specific about this as I don't think politics here is any less active than anywhere else in the state.

I meant that having a large number of large and influential universities encourages a more progressive and active political dialogue which spawns local blogs like orangepolitics.org. This part of the state has traditionally been more conservative dominated but I can see that changing.