Moving to Hartford from Atlanta

rks30075

Hi , I came across your site on a google search. I am moving to Hartford starting on Friday the 13th and throughout the next 90 days. I work with UPS and they are relocating me to work in a subsidiary. I am 29 single white male...born and bread in Georgia - that means I have been here all of my life. I was in New Hampshire about 3 years ago for a week but that was in the summer. So, I am brand new to New England and obviously new to Hartford.

I was hoping you folks might give me some advice. The perception of Hartford in Atlanta is that, well, it's cold, and crime is a problem. Reading your posts and seeing the pictures, I can deduce that the latter of the two is inacurate. What's the story with the cold...just deal with it I supose?

I am thinking of going the condo route so I can avoid house upkeep for a change. Does anyone have some suggestions for where the best spots in town are for the $225K-$275K price range? I am looking for a pulse not a sleeper town. I found a place called the linden on Coldwell bankers site. Looks pretty cool. Anybody know the history.

http://www.coldwellbanker.com/servlet/Prop...1&page=property

That's it for now. Everyone seems pretty friendly on the site so I hope I didn't offend anyone with my comments. I am truely excited to make the move; it looks like a great town with a great history.

Cheers, rks

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Linden is a great start. A little pricey, but you might find a good condo in your range there. Tons of new developments going in downtown Hartford, not sure if any are in your range, maybe check out this:

College Street LLC

They've been going nuts in the area, you might find something in your price range. If you don't want the city proper, maybe try downtown West Hartford, a little more trendy, with little shops and boutiques and the like.