Mississippi Coffee House

tombarnes

I am a hotel manager, but I have been fascinated with hotels since I was a child. I don't know why exactly, but hotels have always had a strong hold upon me. Maybe part of it was that I have always done a lot of traveling, but it's also that a hotel is a city or town's chance to put its best face forward. Something like reserving the best rooms of one's house for guests, a city or town should always try to make its hotel(s) unique and interesting. In a world of Hilton Garden Inns, I'm not always sure this is happening anymore. Hotel rooms have become a commodity, for better for worse.

I am a hotel manager, but I have been fascinated with hotels since I was a child. I don't know why exactly, but hotels have always had a strong hold upon me. Maybe part of it was that I have always done a lot of traveling, but it's also that a hotel is a city or town's chance to put its best face forward. Something like reserving the best rooms of one's house for guests, a city or town should always try to make its hotel(s) unique and interesting. In a world of Hilton Garden Inns, I'm not always sure this is happening anymore. Hotel rooms have become a commodity, for better for worse.

I was wondering if you were somehow connected to them or not. But I have noticed you mentioning them often. :D

I was wondering if you were somehow connected to them or not. But I have noticed you mentioning them often.

I do tend to talk about hotels a lot.... :lol:

No I'm not connected to them like you are. It's probably more to the fact that Arkansas has had some nice older hotels and I just happened to mention them or appreciate them. :D

Well, since you've got some inside track maybe, perhaps you could keep us updated on the status of the Memphis project to turn the old Chisca Hotel into some sort of Hilton development, as well as the status on the Memphis downtown Embassy Suites.