Greensboro...Trying to establish a reputaion as a City

jervais

The mayor was saying how the advertisement on American idol was going to be great for the city...but do you think people will have the typical stereotype of a NC city like G'boro confirmed b/c of the image American idol portrayed? They could have shown alot more urban scenes...Elm Street, I-40 around the High Point Road Area. The only reason I'm concerned is that on Fox they showed how the city was excited about the publicity as if it would draw more businesses to the city. If I was a developer I would be looking for new and upcomming cities not small towns to invest in but, I guess we have to hope that most developers have more common sense than just taking a simple T.V. show's opinion about a city.

Does mentioning a city in songs, books, movies...(the stereotypes that the artist,authors,producers want to portray) factor in the big equation of the growth of a city?

I remember back in the late 80's early 90's Atlanta had a campaign slogan 'Look at Atlanta Now' that showcased the new skyline, which I think made a statement to the nation that said, ok we want everyone to know that we are not what you think...Should Greensboro push for something like that? Or do you think that would be an expensive campaign to spark the attention that the city wants?

I personally think the Triad has so much potential, being from Savannah a city that has no where near the population the Triad has...did pretty well as far as drawing attention to itself to increase tourist traffic but they didn't attract the big companies, making the job market weak...I think if the Triad market themselves right they can really get a good balance of tourists and companies interested in the area just from location alone.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply