Commodore06

GoldRiver

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I do weekly posts for class, I guess that doesn't count since only my classmates see those (haha). I have not seen any recent Vandy topics on here for me to contribute my two cents.

Well, since we have this thread at our disposal, could you give us an update on the projects on campus. I'm a grad from '92 (OMG, I'm old).

And welcome to the forum.

Well, since we have this thread at our disposal, could you give us an update on the projects on campus. I'm a grad from '92 (OMG, I'm old).

And welcome to the forum.

The biggest project on the Vandy Campus is happening on Peabody with the Freshman Commons. All freshmen, beginning in the fall of 2008 will be housed there. The university will build 5 new dorms in the Jeffersonian style architecture that exist on Peabody. The first phase is well underway with two of the five being built now. Last I checked that outer shells of both were completed. These two new dorms will be open this coming fall. Starting this summer, Gillette will be gutted and renovated. The other existing dorms on Peabody will be remodeled before the fall 2008. Also, the Hill Center is being completely renovated and will be an awesome student center and dinning hall for the freshman.

On main campus, Buttrick Hall was gutted and expanded. It is a welcomed addition because this was once an eye score in the middle of campus. Now, we just need to work on the Central Library (haha). Next to Buttrick is the new engineering building Featheringgill, finished in the fall of 2002. Behind Buttrick, the Black Cultural Center was remodeled and expanded as well.