Form Based Planning

NorthCoast

I'm still a bit of a novice to the field but lately I've been hearing the concept of "form based planning" being thrown around. I've managed to find bits and pieces on it but nothing special. Is there anyone out there who could point me in the direction of a good info source or give a good description of what it is? How its used? And why it is beneficial?

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm still a bit of a novice to the field but lately I've been hearing the concept of "form based planning" being thrown around. I've managed to find bits and pieces on it but nothing special. Is there anyone out there who could point me in the direction of a good info source or give a good description of what it is? How its used? And why it is beneficial?

Good topic.

Simply put, form based zoning is beneficial in that it pays greater attention to building design and less attention to uses. Traditional "euclidian" zoning rigidly seperates uses; i.e. commercial, low-density residential, medium density residential, etc. Form-based zoning allows more mixing of uses and greater control over design and architectural standards. The City of GR, Grand Haven and Allegan are all pursuing form-based zoning ordinances. I'm sure GRTownPlanner could provide some valuable insight on this topic as well :whistling:

If we desire to create something other than suburban monocultures, then we need to work within a different set of guidelines. Most conventional zoning codes force separation of uses and seldom deal with the quality of the built environment. These conventional codes are based primarily on use and density while focusing on what is forbidden (not what is desired). They have caused systemic problems over the past sixty years by separating uses, making mixed-use and walkable neighborhoods essentially illegal.