Proximity Hotel

DigitalSky

• Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I saw it on Fox 8 too. Its suppose to be as large as the O'Henry Hotel and is planned to be 8-stories. The Proximity Hotel will stand in close proximity to the O'Henry Hotel (no pun intended), off of Wendover Ave and also near Lorillard Tobbaco corporate headquarters. This website will kep you informed on the Proximity

http://www.proximityhotel.com

Citiboi, how do you always have the lastest info on what's going on in Greensboro? Are you a developer? Oh yeah thanks for the info on the hotel b/c I wanted to know abot it also.

No i'm not a developer. I'm just an ordinary citizen that keeps tabs on the news and planned developments around town.

:)

They should have just rounded the proximity off to 10 stories. Its kinda like the Koury Convention Center. They built the second tower with 28-stories when they could have built it with 30-stories. Technically a bulding under 10-stories is not considered a high-rise. That would make the Proximity a midrise hotel.

• 1 month later...

renderingFeb06Big.jpg

It does resemble a textile mill. I like the way the hotel logo was used on the windows of the upper floor. This would have been a great building near South Elm Street in downtown Greensboro. Instead they are building it near an office park 3 miles northwest of downtown.

Construction has already started and should be complete by mid 2007. In the photo below, if you look carefully, you can see the O'Henry Hotel in the background. The O'Henry and Proximity both are owned by the same company. The Proximty, like the O'Henry will have its own restaurant. I do like the fact that Greensboro is building more home brand named hotels such as the Proximity, Grandover and the O'Henry rather than Holiday Inn or Hampton Inns

april13.jpg