Politics of "New Urbanism"?

Hi all!

So first of all this topic is NOT intended to spark a contentious political debate! Rather, I'm new to the terminology and debates within urban planning and urban theory, and the more I think about the major issues that seem to spring up in cities and divide communiites, the more it seems like they often traverse typical ideological and political boundaries, forming weird and unexpected coalitions. In trying to get a handle of "new urbanism" - a new concept to me - I'm trying to figure out if it has a clear politics... what I mean is...

On the one hand, it seems like there's a lot of lefty preoccupations involved here. Anti-sprawl and anti-suburbanization attitudes seem to involve a lot of typical left commitments - to environmentalism, to limiting car culture, to maintaining cultural diversty as against the homogenization of chain stores and strip malls. On the other hand, apart from requiring appropriate zoning laws, I *think* new urbanism entails a commitment to a bottom-up, free-market driven development process (but maybe I'm wrong - this is where I'm just beginning to figure this stuff out!) that I would associate more with the right, or at least with economic conservatism. It also seems that the emphasis placed upon redeveloping "blighted" parts of cities often produces the kind of gentrification typically decried by the left, driving out long-term residents who can no longer afford to live in "improving" neighborhoods.

Now I might be completely misrepresenting/misunderstanding what new urbanism is really all about. But I'm curious what others think - is this a left thing? A right thing? Neither one? Does it defy ordinary political categories? Do I just have absolutely no clue what I'm talking about?? :)

S

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply