A Nice Day in Ann Arbor

ariesjow

I took the time out today to take somes pictures around Ann Arbor with my new digital camera. This is my first time with this camera and I'm no Annie Leibovitz so the pictures aren't that great. But tell me what everyone thinks anyway.

IMG_0051.jpg

UM's new Public Policy building is a beauty but it's sort of out of scale with it's surroundings. It seems large and dwarfs everything around it including the Law Quad.

IMG_0052.jpg

University of Michigan Law School Quad: The jewel of the campus and arguably the most beautiful law school campus in the nation (ok, as a student, I'm biased). This is part of the Lawyer's Club, student housing solely for law students.

IMG_0055.jpg

The opposite side of the Law Quad - the Law School's Reading Room. Gorgeous inside and out.

IMG_0056.jpg

Michigan Union

IMG_0057.jpg

Angell Hall

IMG_0058.jpg

Museum of Art next door to Angell Hall and across the street from the Law Quad

IMG_0059.jpg

Tower Plaza: One of Ann Arbor's few high rises. This thing is ugly as hell and sticks out of the Ann Arbor skyline like a sore thumb.

IMG_0060.jpg

I believe this cute little old building is owned by one of the fraternities. I have no idea what is uses for but I'm glad it's preserved.

IMG_0061.jpg

Nickel's Arcade next to an example of some of the nice new renovation that is going on around central Ann Arbor. This building houses an Aveda salon.

IMG_0062.jpg

Intersection of State and Packard

IMG_0063.jpg

Great old architecture

IMG_0064.jpg

Yet another example.

IMG_0065.jpg

Finally, Main Street.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wonderful pics. I, too, think that the Law School is the most beautiful in the nation. Harvard has a wonderful Richardson building, though, and Chicago has one by Eero Saarinen. But, taken as a group, I think that Michigan wins the prize.