This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

moving to Denver

3 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I am new to this Colorado forum, but have been very involved in the Grand Rapids Urban Planet forum here in the midwest. I am moving to Denver this August to attend UCDenver for my masters in Architecture. I am very excited for the move, but want to avoid living anywhere heavily impacted by sprawl, which unfortunately is a lot of the Denver Metro area. :sick:

As realtors cannot give advice on neighborhoods, I wanted to check your prespectives on the neighborhoods in downtown Denver (what's cool and what I should avoid). I am looking to buy a home as close to the central city as I can, but can't afford a great loft in LODO.

Anyone know what areas are growing or what areas are on the brink of development. I work in urban development and historic preservation here in GR, so I want to get involved in the same sort of work there.

Any thoughts or advice?

Peace -anne

I don't know a ton about Denver because I live in Colo. Springs. However, I have a lot of friends and family up there. From what I've heard and seen you should really check out the Cherry Creek area. It's close to downtown, and has a young population. It has great shopping, dining, transportation and real estate. You said you wanted a condo, and it has plenty for all price ranges. There's a lot of great nightlife too. So I think that would be your best bet. Let me know how your search turns out! :)

Here's a quick rundown of the downtown-area neighborhoods:

CBD core: limited housing, but a bunch of high-rises are proposed. currently available are mostly conversions - old office buildings converted to condos/apts. Some are pretty cool.

LoDo: pricey, but very trendy. historic conversions/lofts. lots of character. mostly for-sale units $350 sf +

Central Platte Valley: even pricier and uber-hip. all new construction neo-lofts. good mix of apts. and condos. lots under construction. $350/sf +.