Help fighting a stupid traffic ticket.

wolverine

Before I start, I want to say this is only my second moving violation. I've been driving for six years now, so I would say I'm a fairly good driver. My first ticket was for going 5 mph over the speed limit on the freeway in one of the toughtest enforcement zones. I unfortunately got a point on my drivers license and $150 fine.

I guess a ticket for going 75 in a 70 seems ridiculous, but I think I've topped that one by turning right on a "no turn on red." So basically, I now have the possibility of 3 points total on my license for two ridiculous civil infractions. This means there is a possibility my insurance may go up. This I don't want to face.

Here's how the story happens, and then I'll need some advice from any knowledgeable forumers. Hopefully this adivce can help others..

I currently live in Ann Arbor, Michigan; a city that has two different police entities. The first is Ann Arbor Police Department which generally patrols all city streets. The other is University of Michigan Police or department of public safety which patrols the campus as well as surrounding city streets.

While I rarely hear complaints about the AAPD, there's always a ton of complaints about DPS. They tend to stake out and bust people at the most confusing intersections, waiting for someone to make a right on a red, or go the wrong way up a one way where 6 streets meet. I wouldn't say they are crooked cops, but I do believe they are trying to make quota the easiest way possible. Instead of protecting people from being robbed on campus which has been happening several times a week now, they'd rather bust people for stupid infractions that pose little, if no danger to the public.

So here we go: