Calvin Spoof

Every year, students at Calvin College put out a mock publication that makes fun of something in print, whether it is the application for admission or something else. This year, it appears that they have created a mock version of the daily devotional "Today" that can be found in churches across West Michigan. Here is the link that I was emailed. It's pretty funny.

www.calvinspoof.com

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There is actually a ton of controversy surrounding this year's spoof. The Chimes (Calvin's student newspaper) has to get approval from the administration before they can print it. Well, this year, the administration denied it and said they would have to severely edit it before they would let it be printed.

The Chimes people refused, it didn't get printed, but they put it up online without the administration's approval. The main editor and a couple other Chimes members were fired because of it.

I'm a recent Calvin grad, so I try to keep on top of campus rumors.

I know there's one member who would probably know everything we want to know about it....

From the final page of the spoof:

"Running a Reformed college is a tricky thing. Not only must you commit to consideration of varied viewpoints and allow free exchange of ideas, but you have to appease donors who view the college as a company in which they have voting shares, entitling them to have oversight over opinions that are expressed.A major problem with writing something like what you have just read, is that it may expose the above paradox. Professors need to get paid and we need donors to help. Reconciliation between the campus and its supporters must be reached. The result is doublespeak. Hypothetically, pranks are praised and encouraged, but Campus Safety deals with actual ones swiftly. Publicly, the responsible freedom of student organizations is touted, but restraints are quietly added until